Skip navigation

UCO to Host Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame Luncheon Honoring Nine New Members

April 4, 2014

Media Contact: Lindsay Houts, Staff Writer, UCO University Relations, 405-974-2121,


The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame will honor nine outstanding journalists during the 44th anniversary celebration luncheon at 11:45 a.m. April 24 in the University of Central Oklahoma’s Nigh University Center (NUC).

The 2014 inductees include Ed Blochowiak, photographer for the Shawnee News-Star; Thomas H. “Tom” Boone, sports writer for the Bixby Bulletin, retired; Jay Cronley, columnist for the Tulsa World; Kelly Dyer Fry, editor of The Oklahoman and vice president of news for OPUBCO Communications Group; Carolyn Estes, marketing director for the Oologah Lake Leader; Larry Ferguson, publisher of the Pawnee Chief; William A. Hamilton, syndicated columnist for USA Today; Tim Schnoebelen, publisher of The Mooreland Leader; and Jan Stratton, broadcaster for KSWO-TV in Lawton, retired.

“The event has become sort of homecoming celebration for members of the Hall of Fame to come together and recognize each year’s honorees,” said Terry Clark, Ed.D., professor in Central’s Department of Mass Communication and director of the Hall of Fame.

Mark Thomas, executive vice president of the Oklahoma Press Association, will serve as master of ceremonies.

A committee composed of members of the working press and the Hall of Fame selects honorees. Framed citations of honorees are on display in the Hall of Fame, located in the NUC.

Founded in 1971 by former UCO journalism chair Ray Tassin, Ph.D., the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame is supported by funding from UCO, The Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation and The Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation.

The cost of the luncheon is $15. Reservations may be made through April 17 by calling Clark at 405-974-5122 or by emailing


Editor’s Note: To download photos of the nine inductees, visit

Cutline: The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame will induct nine outstanding journalists at a celebratory luncheon at 11:45 a.m., April 24 on the third floor of the Nigh University Center at the University of Central Oklahoma.